Tag: SPARKS

Artists’ Games: Critical and Creative Approaches in New Media Art

Moderated by Victoria Szabo and Joyce Rudinsky Time/Date: Friday March 25, 2022 20:00 GMT Description  This session explores critical and creative approaches to video games in new media art. How are artists using games in practice?  What prior artistic forms do they build upon? What distinct opportunities do game spaces present for graphical and interactive […]

Decolonial Media Art Beyond 530 years

Moderated by Liliana Conlisk Gallegos and Kathy Huffman Time/Date: Friday April 29, 2022 20:00 GMT Description Coloniality refers to the colonial ideals, concepts, formats, and organizations which continue produce decontextualized knowledge which ignores that there have always been other ways of doing, thinking, valuing, and being. Decoloniality seems new due to this decontextualization. Decolonial consciousness […]

Experimental and Expanded Animation: Exploring Artistic Possibilities

Moderated by Bonnie Mitchell and Rebecca Xu Time/Date: Friday May 27, 2022 20:00 GMT Description  The May SPARKS invites presentations on current practices and new perspectives in experimental and expanded animation. Changing technologies such as real-time CGI, virtual reality, AI, data-driven, and interactivity have been reshaping the connotations and forms of experimental animation from a […]

Rediscovering and Reimagining Culture: Digital Art Practice in Asia

Moderated by Rebecca Ruige Xu and Yoon Chung Han Date/Time June 23 9PM EDT / 6PM PDT; June 24 1AM GMT / 9AM Beijing CSTTime adjusted for Asian audiences (one event multiple time zones) Description  As we are increasingly seeing ourselves and the world through a digital lens, various forms of digital media and technology […]

Within the Frame: Continuum of the Still Image

Moderated by Dena Eber and Sue Gollifer Event: December 3, 2021, 4PM EST/9PM GMT Description Humans have been making pictures since the earliest cave drawings dating to at least 45,000 years ago, and the content and methods of making them have progressed since.  With each new technological advance (this includes analog), image makers add another […]

Data: Visual Perception, Interpretation, and Truth

Moderated by Everardo Reyes & Jan Searleman **Session Video** Time and Date Converter Description  Data has become one of the most valuable resources in the digital age. Indeed, it is estimated that more than 5 billion users of the Internet (https://www.internetlivestats.com/) generate more than 59 trillion gigabytes of information (source from the State of Data […]

Creative Coding: Generative / Algorithmic Art and the Exploration of Authorship and Authenticity

Moderated by Casey Reas & Bonnie Mitchell ** Session Video** ACM SIGGRAPH SPARKS Session – September 24, 2021, 8PM GMT Time: Los Angeles, USA     Fri,  Sept 24, 2021 at 1:00 pm PDT     Denver, USA         Fri,  Sept 24, 2021 at 2:00 pm MDT     Chicago, USA        Fri,  Sept 24, 2021 at 3:00 pm CDT     New York, USA     Fri,  Sept 24, 2021 at 4:00 pm EDTGreenwich Mean    Fri,  Sept 24, 2021 at 8:00 pm GMT     London, UK         Fri,  Sept 24, 2021 at 9:00 […]

Music in Social VR: Education, Installation, Conferences, and Performance

Time New York, USA Fri, July 16, 2021 at 4:00 pm EDT   Presenters: Kenneth J. Stewart, Jil Christensen, and David Zielinksi During the past year, the global COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated the already in progress shift towards remote learning and remote interactions. While Zoom and other video conferencing platforms have been the main tools used in this […]