SPARKS Postcard June 2023

The Phantasmagoric Dispositif: Collapsing Time and Space

SPARKS Postcard June 2023

Description

Phantasmagorias have captivated imaginations, artistic inquiries, and critical discourse for well over two centuries. The phantasmagoric dispositif situates spectator and image in real-time assembly, collapsed within a single time and space, while seemingly freed from material constraints. From eighteenth and nineteenth century theatrics; through contemporary stage illusions, themed entertainment, immersive and intermedia arts events, and real-time computational arts; what do historical and contemporary phantasmagorias indicate for the future of art and technology? This event considers diverse perspectives on phantasmagoria through critical and practical approaches in contemporary media arts research practice, architecture, and theatrical production.


Event Date/Time: June 30

Paris, France Fri, Jun 30, 2023 at 10:00 pm CEST
London, United Kingdom Fri, Jun 30, 2023 at 9:00 pm BST
New York, USA Fri, Jun 30, 2023 at 4:00 pm EDT
Chicago, USA Fri, Jun 30, 2023 at 3:00 pm CDT
Denver, USA Fri, Jun 30, 2023 at 2:00 pm MDT
Los Angeles, USA Fri, Jun 30, 2023 at 1:00 pm PDT

SIGN UP to attend the Zoom Session HERE


Presenters

Presenter Info Coming Soon


Moderators

Johannes DeYoung is an internationally recognized artist and filmmaker who works at the intersection of computational and material processes. His moving-image works have been exhibited internationally at venues such as: Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Alicante, Alicante, Spain; Festival ECRÃ, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung, Taiwan; B3 Biennale of the Moving Image, Frankfurt en Main, Germany; Hesse Flatow (Crush Curatorial), Jeff Bailey Gallery, Robert Miller Gallery, Interstate Projects, Eyebeam, and MoMA PS1 Print Studio, New York, NY; as well as numerous festival screenings in countries such as Australia, Greece, Ireland, New Zealand, Turkey, and Vietnam. His work has been featured in The New York Times, The New York Post, The Huffington Post, and Dossier Journal. DeYoung is currently appointed Associate Professor at Carnegie Mellon University; from 2008-18 he taught at Yale University, where he served as the founding Director of the Center for Collaborative Arts and Media.

Dr. Gustavo Alfonso Rincon (Ph.D., M.Arch., M.F.A., B.S, B.A.)¬†is a Senior Associate Postdoctoral Fellow for the¬†AlloSphere Research Facility, affiliated with the¬†Media Arts and Technology¬†Program (MAT),¬†California NanoSystems Institute¬†at the¬†University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB)¬†where he earned his doctorate titled¬†‚ÄúShaping Space as Information: A Conceptual¬†Framework for New Media Architectures.‚Ä̬†Rincon is educated as an architect, artist, and media arts/science design researcher. His academic and creative works have been exhibited¬†nationally and internationally along with serving clients globally. Rincon works as an educator, practitioner, and thought leader in the fields of Art, Architecture/Computational design, Media Arts/Science, and Speculative Design Engineering. He also¬†serves in dual leadership roles as a Curator for¬†ACM SIGGRAPH Digital Arts Community¬†and Senior Organizing Member for¬†DigitalFUTURES International. He is providing service as an¬†Awards Juror for the¬†Eric and Wendy Schmidt Awards for Excellence in Science Communications,¬†National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Awards Juror for an¬†ACM¬†SIGGRAPH¬†Endowed Traveling Fund, and Peer Reviewer for the¬†Leonardo/ISAST¬†|¬†MIT Press Journal.